The Strength

It was this month, 15 years ago that I suffered my first miscarriage. We had spent thousands of dollars and endured 5 grueling years of infertility and having that miscarriage almost broke me.

At the time, I couldn’t foresee how that miscarriage would inspire doctors. Nor could I know that God had 5 little miracles waiting for me…

I was broken with fear and loss.

When my husband gave me this little family of ducks, I struggled to feel like we’d ever get our own little duckling. I couldn’t understand his faith because I felt so lost.

I overheard someone in church talk about how attending the temple every week strengthened them. That sparked something in me. I yearned for strength, and decided to try attending the temple consistently like that.

The only time I could make it fit into my schedule, was 5:30 am on Saturday mornings. Since my husband valued his sleep far too much to go with me, I went alone, just for myself.. and after 2 weeks, I began noticing a change. A quiet peace and hope began growing in my heart.

In the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints the temple is a sacred place where we go to make and renew covenants. Even just walking around the grounds can bring a calm peaceful feeling.

One morning, on the 6th week, I left the temple and saw the most incredible sunrise. An overwhelming feeling of love, peace and power filled my soul and I felt like I could handle anything life threw at me.

On the 10th week we learned we were pregnant again. That baby miraculously survived and became the first of 5 more.

There is no way I could’ve survived the heartbreak of infertility without the faith, joy and I beauty I found in the temple! If you’re in the Dallas area and want to come with me, I’m going to start going consistently again!

Leave a comment